Only specialty contractors, including HVAC, fire sprinkler systems, plumbing, electricians and well drilling/pump installation specialists, need to be licensed in Texas. Home builders are not licensed, but are required to register with the state.
Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractor
To do A/C Refrigeration work in Texas you need to be licensed. To get an application, contact:
The Department issues two types of licenses -- Class A and Class B. The Class A license lets you work on any size HVAC equipment. The Class B license limits you to 25 tons of cooling and 1.5 million Btu of heating. For either the Class A or Class B license, you also need an endorsement for environmental air conditioning, commercial refrigeration and process cooling and heating, or both.
You have to pass an exam for each type of endorsement. To take an exam you need to be at least 18 years old and have 36 months of hands-on experience within the last 5 years.
Freedom offers a home study course that covers everything you need to know for the Business and Law portion of the exam. Click here for course details.
Exams are given by PSI. PSI Licensure 3210 East Tropicana Las Vegas, NV89121 (800) 733-9267
Fax: (702) 932-2666
Go to www.psiexams.com for details on the Class A and Class B exams.
After you pass the exams you have these insurance requirements for a license:
Class A license: $300,000 per occurrence for property damage and bodily injury, $600,000 aggregate for property damage and bodily injury, and $300,00 aggregate for products and completed operations
Class B license: $100,000 per occurrence for property damage and bodily injury, $200,000 aggregate for property damage and bodily injury, and $100,00 aggregate for products and completed operations
If you have a valid HVAC license in Georgia or South Carolina you can use it to get a Texas license.
Air conditioning refrigeration contractor's license fees: It will cost you $130 to file an application (this includes the $80 license fee). Each exam costs $90. A license costs $80 and it's good for one year. License renewal is $80.